UN Security Council in English

UN Security Council in English

Acronyms Geography

According to abbreviationfinder, UN stands for United Nations.


It arises as an intergovernmental organization that integrates the international community and serves as an instrument for governments to pronounce on global issues and problems, as well as adopt measures in relation to almost all issues that concern humanity. These issues are analyzed according to a series of purposes and principles established in Chapter 1 of the “Charter of the United Nations”, having as purposes:

  • Maintain peace and national security.
  • Increase friendly relations between nations based on respect for the principles of equal rights and self-determination of peoples.
  • Encourage international cooperation to solve international economic, social, cultural and humanitarian problems.
  • Promote respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms.
  • To be the center of harmonization between nations to reach common goals.

They are neither an entity above the states, nor a government of governments. They do not have an army of their own and do not collect taxes. The Organization is subject to the political will of its members for the implementation of decisions and depends on the contributions of its members for the execution of activities.

They play a central role in various matters of general interest such as:

Headquarters of the United Nations, located in New York (United States of America)

  • Reduce international tensions.
  • Prevent conflicts.
  • End hostilities that have already occurred.
  • Legislate on the environment, outer space and the seabed.
  • Eradicate diseases.
  • Increase food production.
  • Serve and protect refugees.
  • Fight illiteracy.
  • React quickly in situations of natural disasters.
  • Establish global standards on human rights.
  • Protect and promote the rights of all people.

For this work and the achievements of the Organization and its specialized agencies, as well as various figures related to the UN, they were recognized with the Nobel Peace Prize in 2001.

According to the Charter, the official languages ​​of the United Nations are Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish. In addition, Arabic has been added as the official language of the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council.


The United Nations Organization comprises six main organs:

general Assembly

The General Assembly is made up of 192 member states, each of which has the right to one vote. When it comes to deliberating on important issues, relating to peace and security, the admission of new members and budgetary matters, decisions are taken with a two-thirds majority of the Assembly. Decisions on other matters are taken by simple majority.

Functions and powers

The General Assembly has the following functions and powers:

  • Consider the principles of cooperation in the maintenance of international peace and security, including the principles governing disarmament and the regulation of armaments, and make recommendations in this regard.
  • Discuss any question related to international peace and security and, except in cases where the Security Council is already examining a certain controversy or situation, make recommendations in this regard.
  • Deal with and, with the same exception as in the previous function, make recommendations on any matter within the limits of the Charter or that affects the powers or functions of any organ of the United Nations.
  • Promote studies and make recommendations to promote international political cooperation, promote international law and its codification, help make human rights and fundamental freedoms effective for all, and promote international cooperation in the economic, social, cultural, educational and social spheres. health.
  • Recommend measures for the peaceful settlement of any situation, whatever its origin, that may harm friendly relations between nations.
  • Receive and consider reports from the Security Council and other organs of the United Nations.
  • Examine and approve the budget of the United Nations and set the fees of its members.
  • Elect the non-permanent members of the Security Council, the members of the Economic and Social Council, and those of the Trusteeship Council who should be elected.
  • To elect, together with the Security Council, the magistrates of the International Court of Justice and, on the recommendation of the Security Council, to appoint the Secretary General.

Security Council

The Security Council is the organ of the United Nations whose primary responsibility is the maintenance of peace and security. According to the “Charter of the United Nations”, Member States are obliged to accept and comply with the decisions of the Council, while the other bodies can only make recommendations.

The Security Council is made up of 15 members, of which 5 are permanent and 10 are elected by the General Assembly for a period of 2 years.

The permanent members with the right to veto are:

  • China
  • Russia
  • France
  • USA
  • United Kingdom

The Presidency of the Council rotates monthly, according to the list of the Member States of the Security Council in the English alphabetical order of their names.

The Security Council is organized in such a way that it can function continuously. A representative of each of its members must be present at all times at the United Nations headquarters. Likewise, the Council can also meet away from headquarters.

UN Security Council in English